Music Forums

Forums > Audio Engineering, Mixing and Mastering > Let's talk mix theories

No politics. No religion. It's all about the music, people! So keep it clean, polite, and be sure to read our Community Guidelines before posting in the forum.

I figured I'd start a new topic just for conversations all about the how, why, where and whatever of mixing. Here's a little tis bit of info from another web mag I subscribe ro.
http://www.thevintagemusician.com/the-little-mix-that-could/
#1753 Posted Fri 22 Jul, 2016 2:28 pm
Great topic! I am very new to mixing (about 1 yr) and the thing I am finding out is that my setup is hamstringing my mix from the very start. Ignorance, I've come to find out, is not bliss by any means. First of all, I am set up in my bedroom and the only place I can fit is in a corner - oops! I was wondering why I couldn't get bass right. I didn't know that bass likes to travel around the walls and collect in the corners. My room was tricking me into thinking I had the right amount of bass only to find out that my actual mix had way too little - my room was providing too much bass. I don't have any acoustic treatments yet (my wife doesn't want "that junk" on her walls in the desert. You can't clean the dust off of them...lol. Also, I really need to set up with my workstation centered on a wall and the monitors set up in the right place....learning to mix is hard enough without having a bad set up make things almost impossible to start with. I watched a couple of videos on youtube from a show called "Studio Rescue" that pointed out some of the stuff I mentioned. I will put the link below. Anyway, thanks tomic for starting the thread. Hopefully others will chime in - I've got a lot to learn!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=02qpJt0hsL0

tony
#1756 Posted Sun 24 Jul, 2016 11:22 pm
Hi Tony,